This site uses cookies to provide a better experience. Continuing navigation accept the use of cookies by us OK

Premio NY


Premio NY

The Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Department of Cultural Promotion and Cooperation and the Italian Academy for Advanced Studies at the Columbia University in New York have founded the New York Prize, for the award of scholarships to young and promising Italian artists.

The prize-winners will be offered the opportunity to spend four/eight months at the Italian Academy in New York, during the semesters of the Columbia University (September/December and January/April), in order to develop their skills while being exposed to the cultural and artistic ambience of New York. The chosen artists will be expected to take part in the cultural events and in the activities of the Italian Academy and, as a conclusion of their stay, they will present a solo exhibition at the Academy.

The New York Prize, this year at its fifth edition, has been extremely successful and highlights the commitment of the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs to the promotion abroad of the Italian art.

The examining board changes every year and includes representatives of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Italian Academy and the School of the Arts at Columbia University, two professors of History of Contemporary Art, as well as two art directors of Museums/Galleries of modern and contemporary art and two eminent critics.

Among those who have been in the examining board for the past editions of this Prize are the following: Renato Barilli, Lorenzo Canova, Laura Cherubini, Vittoria Coen, Paolo Colombo, Giorgio Cortenova, Jolanda Covre, Eva Di Stefano, Danilo Eccher, Bruce Ferguson, David Freedberg, Cornelia Lauf, Olivia Richmond D’Aponte, Marco Meneguzzo, Alessandro Riva, Barbara Tosi, Giorgio Verzotti, Marisa Vescovo, Pia Vivarelli.

The winners of the previous editions of the Premio New York are:

1st edition (2002/2003): Matteo Basilè, Chiara Carocci, Marta Dell’Angelo, Sara Rossi;
2nd edition (2003/2004): Sarah Ciraci, Alessandra Tesi;
3rd edition (2004/2005): Rä Di Martino, Gabriele Picco. 

For information on the fifth edition of New York Prize please clic here 

To download terms and conditions of participation please check the website of the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs at: